Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

I gave this book 3/5 stars

So I know that everyone is going to hate me for this review because this seems to be the book of the year currently. Maybe I wasn’t in the mood for this book, I don’t know. All I know is that I believe this book is way overhyped. I read this book as part of a read-a-thon in which this group reads the same book together over the course of one week. I took way longer than a week. In fact I believe that I took a total of two weeks to read this because I just wasn’t compelled to pick the book up. The plot was flimsy and at points the book didn’t seem to have one. I really hated all of the characters except one because their emotions would flop all over the place making it hard for me to connect with them. There were some redeeming factors of the story though. I loved the ending, I thought it was original and a bold choice for the author to make. I loved the topic of the book, in fact I wish that this dark topic that involves death was more incorporated through disscutions through out the novel. I also thought that there was some great character development. The character I thought were snooby and rude became less snooby and rude through their learning experiences. At this point I don’t know if I am going to read the sequel. I was intrigued by the end of the book however I really didn’t like this one. Overall I would recommend this book to someone who is in the mood for a sad, sappy contemporary that isn’t afraid to talk about death.

You can find a summery of this book on goodreads

You can purchase this book on amazon or book depository. 

You can follow me on goodreads, Instagram,  and twitter to see what I am reading daily.

 

Weekly Update

Hey Bookends,

How are you guys doing? I was able to read enough to feel really achomplished this week even though I had to wok a lot more then I’m use to. Anyway it is Monday, which means that I would love to tell you guys what I have read over the past week.

For Fun:

  • I finished Sense and Sensibility finally, man that took me forever to read
  • and I finished All In by Jennifer Barnes
  • I am 67 pages/ 14% through Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty
  • 155 pages/ 39% through Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin
  • 50% through Six Days by David Levithan
  • 9 pages/ 3% through And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
  • 161 pages/ 35% through The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith
  • 336 pages/ 82% through Panic by Lauren Oliver
  •  86 pages/ 31% through Bossypants by Tina Fey

For School:

  • We actually have exams in a month so we won’t be reading any more books in AP Lang.

So that is all I have for this update. I would love to know what you guys are currently reading. Follow me on goodreads, Instagram, and Twitter  to see what I am reading daily. Thanks for reading.