Top 5 Wednesday- Hard Topics

Hello Bookends, it’s Wednesday so you know what that means! Another Top 5. This is a weekly meme created by Gingerreadslainey  and you can find out all the information on the goodreads page. This week we are talking about hard topics (addiction, suicide, mental health, etc.) I personally believe that these are topics that need to be talked about more. The only way for us to be able to help someone with one of these problems is to know or learn about the problem. I ended up choosing some books which aren’t very hyped, although two of them are, and I sincerely would suggest these books to anyone interested in the subject they are about. All of the titles are linked to the book’s goodreads page.

5. The Color Purple by Alice Walker

800545This book is set in the early 1900s and facings many issues including racism, abuse, and questions about one’s sexuality.

4. Forgive Me, Leanard Peacock by Matthew Quick

13477676

This book focuses on the issue of suicide and some other hard topics.

3. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

19288043

This book sheds light on mental illness.

2. Buried by Robin MacCready

868629

This book focuses on OCD and traumatic experiences.

1. The Stone Girl by Alyssa Sheinmel

13262798

This book talks about the topic of anorexia and it is one of the best books I have ever read. It really showed me what it is like to be in their shoes and how they think.

So that is all I have for this Top 5 Wednesday. If you enjoyed this post please let me know, and follow me on goodreads and Instagram to see what I am reading. Also don’t forget to tell me what book to read on my What’s Next post. Thanks for reading.