The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein

3/5 stars

Normally, I refuse to read any novel with a dog as a protagonist (blame that on Old Yeller); however, this book was not what I expected it to be. The book follows the life of racecar driver Denny, through the eyes of his beloved dog Enzo, in some of the hardest years of his life. The way it is written in Enzo’s eyes brings some much needed comedy to the book. Enzo is a dog who ungoodreadsderstands the way humans work, seemingly more than the humans around him do, and shares the perspective with the reader. It was also interesting to read an adult novel (due to content and language) written from a dog’s point of view, something I have never seen before. Now I will admit that it was hard for me to get through this book. Since the book focuses on a racecar driver, Enzo talks a lot about racing but he went into too much detail for my tastes. When he would start talking about the specifics of how to drive a race car, my mind would wonder which made it harder for me to get through the book. Other than that, the story line of this novel is amazing. I was gripped at the last 100 pages and couldn’t put the book down. I think this novel is great for all adults to read, especially at hard times in their lives.

You can find a summery of this book on goodreads.

You can also purchase this book on amazon or book depository. 

2 thoughts on “The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein

  1. Devouring Books and Lattes February 14, 2017 / 6:14 pm

    This book sounds so sweet. I’ve never read a book with a dog as the protagonist, but I love the idea. I’ll definitely have to look for it at the library. Great post! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

