The Iron Trial by Holy Black

I gave this book 4.5/5 stars.

This was an awesome book. Right after I finished it someone who was looking into reading it asked if this is a rip off of Harry Potter. No, it’s not. This is a true original story which just happens to include a magic system and a boarding school. I thought that this story was beautifully written and the twists, especially the main twist, was absolutely amazing and I never saw it coming. There are only a couple small things that I found I didn’t like about this novel. Although all of the side characters had some great development through out the story I felt as if I didn’t know our main character, Call. While I did learn some important information about him and why he is how he is I still fell like there could have more development. The other thing I would like to understand is the magic system. I understand that because this is a series that the magic will most likely be explained later however I wish there was a basic introduction to how the magic of the world works. I would recommend this novel to anyone who likes fantasy. This novel is a middle grade novel however I enjoyed it even though I am not a big fan of middle grade.

You can find a summery of this book on goodreads.

You can purchase this novel on amazon or book depository.

You can also friend me on goodreads and Instagram to see what I am reading daily.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

