The Isle of the Lost by Melissa de la Cruz

I gave this book 4/5 stars.

This was a really cure middle grade novel. I had heard a couple of things about this book on booktube so I finally picked this book up on a whim. It focuses on a group of teenagers who are the children of villains from Disney movies. In this land all of the villains have been trapped on an island without magic while all of the good people live out on the land. Now I will admit that I had to look up some of the characters while reading this story because I forgot who they were since I am not too brushed up on my Disney villain knowledge. Overall I thought that this was a really cute book for what it was. It had some nice character development and a really good story line. I thought that the way the villains operated, with everything bad being good (such as it is good to be late to class), was a little cliché however it did work for this middle grade. This story is told in multiple perspectives but I really didn’t like the perspective of the Beast’s son (the only ‘good’ person we hear from). I thought that his perspective had no use and really didn’t advance the plot at all. I also hate the fact that the sequel is a movie and not a book. I understand why it is like this, because the book is targeted towards a younger audience, however I am really interested in reading the sequel but going from reading the story to watching it just doesn’t work for me. Overall I really like this book and would recommend it to any one who really likes middle grade and Disney.

You can find a summery of this book on goodreads.

You can purchase this book on amazon or book depository.

Also follow me on goodreads and Instagram to see what I am reading daily.

Thanks for reading!!

 

5 thoughts on “The Isle of the Lost by Melissa de la Cruz

  1. cageofedenaddict March 29, 2016 / 4:39 pm

    Read a couple pages myself did it bother you that Iagoo was on isle even though he had redeemed himself?

    Liked by 1 person

    • parisqueen13 March 30, 2016 / 1:00 am

      I personally do not know much about Iagoo and his crimes before his redemption therefore I have opinion on the matter. 🙂

      Like

      • cageofedenaddict March 30, 2016 / 2:21 am

        Sorry he was my favorite character from Aladdin and it irritated me.

        Like

      • parisqueen13 March 31, 2016 / 1:30 am

        No it’s fine, I bet if one of my favorite characters from anything was treated like that then I would be mad.

        Like

Leave a Reply

