Top 5 Wednesday- Retellings

Hello Bookends, it’s wendnesday so you know what that means! Another Top 5. This is a weekly meme created by Gingerreadslainey  and you can find out all the information on the goodreads page. This week we are talking about our Top 5 retellings. I will admit that I don’t actually know what some of these are retellings of but I found them on a list of retelling. Also if you click on the titles of the book then it will take you to the goodreads page. Without any more rambling, lets get to the top 5.

5. The Tales of the Frog Princess by E.D. Baker

Being honest I don’t remember what this story was actually about. I know I read it when I was in third grade and loved it, but that is all I remember. I added it to the list because I really haven’t read that many retellings.

4.Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling

I love these short stories. They have cute little morals at the end and the copy I have adds notes from Dumbledore.

3. Mythic Adventures by Carolyn Hennesy

I also read these books when I was younger, sixth grade I believe. I loved the plot line and the way the retelling is told. Not to mention it is based on Greek mythology which is always a great thing.

2. Eon Series by Alison Goodman

This duology is based off of Chinese mythology and has a ton of character development. This was a cool time period to be put into, in fact I need to read the second one soon.

  1. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
These are amazing retellings of classic princesses with a science fiction twist. They have amazing character development and world building.
So that is my Top 5 for today, I hope you enjoyed and I would love to hear your thoughts and recommendations for retellings. Thank you so much for reading, friend me on goodreads to see what I am reading daily.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday- Retellings

  1. aubreysbooknook December 19, 2015 / 8:00 pm

    I love retellings and hope to read a lot more! Thanks for the recommendations!

    Like

Leave a Reply

