The Scarlet Letter byNathaniel Hawthorn

I gave this book 3/5 stars.

If there is a book for me to use as an explanation for why I don’t enjoy classics, The Scarlet Letter would be it. The actual plot of this book is really interesting, the problem is that there is way too much description of things that don’t matter at all. My teacher even skipped of some of the paragraphs (which some are two pages long if I might add) when going over things in class. Even with these horrible descriptions there were some great things about this book. The character development was amazing, it was very slow and natural, which I loved. Even at the end one of the characters relates back to the way he use to be, seeming to have only changed in that moment. Another thing I loved was the historical elements embedded into the story. There were mentions to John Winthrop and even the Quakers and their founder. I found this not only very cleaver but also a great help to convince the reader that these events were real. There was tons of great symbolism in this story that I also enjoyed. Overall I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in classic novels, or is interested in historical fiction.

You can find a summery of this book on goodreads.

You can purchase this book on amazon or book depository.

You can also friend me on goodreads to see what I’m reading daily.

4 thoughts on “The Scarlet Letter byNathaniel Hawthorn

  1. aubreysbooknook November 18, 2015 / 1:27 pm

    Ugh. The Scarlet Letter. I may have liked it, but my teacher was… obnoxious to say the least, and we spent 8 MONTHS on this stinkin’ book. That’s a long time to spend on one book. Also, he forced us to read it twice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

