Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

I gave this book 4/5 stars.

This was a very interesting book. This story focuses on a popular teenage girl, Sam, who keeps reliving the day that she dies. I know, I know, this sounds like a huge cliché where she has to do nice things in order to end up living. However this story is not like that. I would love to tell you how this book is different but it would be a huge spoiler. So instead of telling you that, I am going to tell you about my thoughts of the book. To be honest, I didn’t really like it at first. I hated the narrator’s voice, I know she was suppose to be a snobby person but she was so snobby I didn’t want to continue. However I did grow to like her as she grew as a person and realized that the world didn’t revolve around her. Even though this is one day played over and over again, there is plenty of character development from most of the main characters we are introduced to. Their character development was really natural and easy to follow which I loved. I didn’t like the fact that the high school seemed to be a pretty cliché high school and the students seemed to have some cliché problems/personalities.  I am currently in high school and I can never find a book that accurately portrays it which disappoints me. Because this was about the same day the book sometimes became really repetitive, this didn’t bother me too much because it is understandable but I thought I would mention it. The last thing I didn’t like was that there didn’t seem to be a lot of transitions in this story. Thing seemed to jump around a bit which bothered me a bit. However, that being said, I did really like the writing style. Overall I ended up enjoying this book and the unorthodox ending. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes these sort of books that are about the main character changing.

You can find a summery of this book here on goodreads.

You can purchase this book on book depository or amazon.

Friend me on goodreads to see what I’m reading daily.

One thought on “Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

Leave a Reply

