Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

I gave this book 4.5/5 stars.

I am so glad I picked up this book. There is so much hype surrounded around it and I believe that it is for a good reason. This is a YA Contemporary book but it isn’t like your typical ones. I feel like the focus of the book wasn’t romance, it was two people working through separate problems at the and unknowingly helping each other through them, with a touch of romance on the side. It was nice to see a category in contemporaries. I also really loved the character development in this book. I will admit, I didn’t really like Amy at first, I thought she was snarky and a total beyotch. However, after getting to know her through out the novel, and understanding her problems fully, I feel like her sassiness was some what justified and that it was a defense mechanism. The only thing I didn’t like about her the whole way through was her oblivious nature. She seemed to be naïve to many things and that is just a trait that really bothers me. I also liked getting to know Roger. He didn’t have as much development but he was defiantly well rounded and was an important part to the whole story. Overall I loved this book, it had a wonderful writing style with duel perspectives, and so great moments that made me laugh. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a new type of contemporary or a pretty light read.

You can find a summery of this book here on goodreads.

You can purchase this book on amazon or book depository

And as always friend me on goodreads to see what I’m reading daily.

One thought on “Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Leave a Reply

