Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin

I gave this book 2/5 stars.

I hated this book. I couldn’t stand it, but that was after what I found out about it. Before I found out this thing, don’t worry I’ll tell you in a bit. This book was a good 4 stars. The writing style bothered me because there were no transitions, the book was written in third person but had quotes from interviews in the middle of it, and there were words in another langue that weren’t translated, while others were. Other than those small things, which to be honest didn’t bother me too much, this book had a great story and message. This is about a young man who raises money to build schools for children who don’t have any in Pakistan and Afghanistan. He focuses on the schooling of young women, which is looked down upon there. However, most of this book is a lie. After reading this book for school, I was also required to read Three Cups of Deceit by Jon Krakauer. This book exposes all of Greg’s lies. Greg did build some schools like he said, but not as many as he claims. He also took money from his non-profit organization, which raised money for these children, for personal interest. I would only recommend this book if you also read Three Cups of Deceit after it in order to inform yourself of these wrong doings.

You can find a summery of these books if you click on their titles.

Three Cups of Tea

Three Cups of Deceit

You can purchase Three Cups of Tea on amazon or book depository.

You can purchase Three Cups of Deceit on amazon or book depository.

And as always friend me on goodreads to see what I’m reading daily.

One thought on “Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin

Leave a Reply

