A Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle

I gave this book 5/5 stars.

I have been intersested in reading the Sherlock Holmes stories for a long time, I’ve even bought the complete set about a year ago. So without having to say anything you can tell that I had high expectations. All those expectations were meet. I loved the format of the book, which was split into two parts. In the first part of the book we learn about the murder and the culprit is caught, but the reader has no idea why Sherlock came to that conclusion. The second part starts off in a completely different place and time period, I was very confused. Then I understood that Doyle  was explaining the whole back story to us. After the backstory, Sherlock explains how he got to his conclusion, which is my favorite part. Even with the story focused on the murder, there was a small amount of character development with both Sherlock and Watson. There was also a good amount of world building which I loved!

You can find a summery of this book here on goodreads.

You can also purchase this book on book depository and amazon.

Thanks for reading this review, as always friend me on goodreads to see what I’m reading daily.

4 thoughts on “A Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle

  1. sarah'sbookshelf September 2, 2015 / 11:59 am

    If you have a look on my blog, you’ll find I only gave this a 2 star rating! I was really disappointed with it unfortunately…I just didn’t click with it!

    Like

      • sarah'sbookshelf September 2, 2015 / 12:13 pm

        I had to read it for uni but I found myself skimming a lot of parts to ‘get it over with’ and finish it quickly. I didn’t connect with the characters and on finding out ‘whodunnit’, I wasn’t really very impressed!

        Like

Leave a Reply

