Death Note Vol. 1 by Tsugumi Ohba

I gave this book 5/5 stars.

This was my first official manga and I really enjoyed it. The storyline was a great twist on how people want to be a hero. The “hero” of this story is a teenage boy who has gained control of a notebook in which if he writes a person’s name and pictures his face, that person will die. This concept is what lead me to pick up this manga in the first place. The “twists” in the story were also unpredictable yet really entertaining and explain a lot about how the boy, Light, is able to do this. I didn’t see any character development but the first volume is fairly short so I understand why that is. I also loved the art style. It is a traditional black and white color scheme but there was still a lot of detail put into every drawing. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy or books with antihero’s.

You can purchase this book here on the book depository.

As always friend me on goodreads to see what I’m reading daily.

2 thoughts on “Death Note Vol. 1 by Tsugumi Ohba

Leave a Reply

