Top 5 Wednesday- Required Reading

I have decided to start doing this weekly meme created by Gingerreadslainey  and you can find out all the information on the goodreads page. So this weeks theme is Top 5 favorite required reading. This was kind of a hard list to pick out. I had to think for a long time and couldn’t remember any good books before 8th grade. I will say that there are probably some really good books that I forgot about but this is the list I have come up with.

5.

Great Expectations by Charles Dickens


I was required to read Great Expectations in 8th grade and was surprised to really enjoy it. There are some parts of the book that are boring but I loved the story line and characters.

4.

Animal Farm by George Orwell


This was the summer reading book for my sophomore year of high school and at first I was just neutral about the book. I liked how the book showed society but though that some of the things in the book came out of left field. But after my teacher explained the book was based off the Russian Revolution (which I would have learned if I read the preface, oops) I started to put more things together and I understood what George Orwell was trying to put across.

3.

To Kill a Mocking Bird by Harper Lee


This was another book I was required to read in 8th grade. I liked that this book was very different than the other books I had read in school. This was the first book that we read that talked about topics that were considered inappropriate previously in school.

2.

Lord of the Flies by William Golding.


I was required to read this the summer before my freshman year of high school. I loved everything about this book; the symbolism, the characters, the character development, the events of the book, and I especially loved the ending. I loved  how Golding showed how nasty and disturbed people can get in a life without a government.

1.

Life of Pi by Yann Martel


I had to read this in he summer before my junior year of high school. I love this book so much that it is hard to describe why I love it. And now for a little self promo, I will be posting a full length review of this book soonish so be looking our for that.

I hope that you guys like my first Top 5 Wednesday and as always friend me on goodreads to see what I’m reading daily. Thanks for reading.

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday- Required Reading

Leave a Reply

